Week 1 with Playstation 4

controller004

Okay, it’s actually been 10 days since I – filled with excitement – ran through the streets of Copenhagen in order to get my sweaty hands on the Playstation 4. After receiving my console I also picked up FIFA 14 and Battlefield 4 just so I had something to play when I got home.

When I first booted up the Playstation I sat with a rabbit’s foot around my neck and every possible finger crossed in the hope that I wouldn’t be one of the less-than-1%-few who couldn’t enjoy their console from the get-go because of some faulty hardware. With all the updates and creation of PSN ID and so on the console caused a lot of commotion inside my head with its constant clicking and insane spinning of the bluray discs.

But finally it stopped. I was clear of the launch debris! Since the first update it hasn’t clicked one bit and it’s as silent as the early sound bugs featured in Battlefield 4 (or is it just me who experiences a lack of sound?)

So, it’s been 10 days now. How am I liking it? I’m loving it. (pun intended) The first thing that struck me was the fact that Battlefield 4 appeared on my screen with a smoothness which I can only assume is something close to the infamous 60 frames per second that everyone is making a lot of fuzz about. Running through collapsing buildings with a single digit on the health meter, screaming internally with joy while your console doesn’t really seem to care about it is something I have missed since i first saw how the last-gen consoles were really struggling with Far Cry 3.

The best thing about the Playstation 4, however, is hands down the controller. Oh, how I loved the Xbox 360 controller and how I hated the PS3 controller with all my heart. The thumbsticks and the triggers were designed to fit everthing else than human beings. But my prayers have been heard: The thumbsticks are no longer designed for your fingers to slip off and the triggers are actually shaped like triggers. (!)  Also, it’s now a bit larger. With that I don’t feel like I’m violating the controller anymore. Thank you Sony!

As for the games, I’ll say that I’m impressed. I’m not blown away, but still impressed by the 60 fps and I one can only imagine what they’ll achieve in just the next year when the developers have learned to control the beastly powers that dwell the insides of the next-gen consoles. My must have for this new generation is still Tom Clancy’s The Division – Oh my god that looks terrific!

One thing that I’m really excited about is PS+ – after being and Xbox man during the last generation, I have finally crossed the pond and PS+ just seems like one of the most customer friendly things I’ve ever experienced with regards to video games.

What I’ve played? I must say I haven’t played more than a few minutes of Contrast. I think I’ll have to wait a while before I can really enjoy it. FIFA, Battlefield and Resogun are just too much fun as of now. I’ve mostly been playing Battlefield because I find it’s a game that you can play by yourself. I’ve also started a career in FIFA 14, but all in all the virtual football matches have been limited to 1v1 fun with a bunch of friends.

I’m very excited for what the future holds for gaming with both the Xbox One and the Playstation 4 – I can’t wait for more.

Have you gotten your hands on either the Playstation 4 or the Xbox One? What’s your opinion on the arrival of the next generation of video games? Leave a comment below

2 thoughts on “Week 1 with Playstation 4

  1. I’ve got Fifa and i’m actually loving it, one of the best football games I’ve ever played without a doubt. I haven’t had a chance to get Battlefield yet because I mistakenly got Killzone instead, but I’ll definitely check it out on your recommendation.

    • Yeah, Fifa just keeps getting better and better every year. I especially love the way they’ve made the players a bit more… Heavy. You don’t just sprint down the field, making 1-2’s whenever you feel like it – you’ll actually need to have your players in balance when making a pass. What’s your opinion on Killzone? I’m getting it next week, so would be nice with a heads up!

Leave a Reply

